There’s no denying that car accidents and crashes are on the rise in Colorado. While we hope not, if you ever get injured in such an accident, you must know your rights and take certain immediate steps. It is also wise to check for a car accident lawyer near me, soon after, so that you can protect your interests. Here are a few important details about car accidents in Colorado.
Knowing the modified comparative negligence rule
What if you have a share in fault? Colorado follows the modified comparative negligence rule. Even when you have a share in fault, you can still file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver. This is when your share of fault is not more than the other party. Also, your eventual settlement received will be lower. The awarded compensation will be reduced by your share fault percentage.
How does this work in real life? For example – If you were awarded $10,000 for your car accident claim and are found to be 40% at fault, you will finally get an amount of $6,000. The modified comparative negligence rule can be complicated in some cases, especially when there are multiple parties involved.
The statute of limitations
When it comes to personal injury lawsuits, you have limited time to take action. For generic personal injury cases, such as trip & fall accidents and product liability, the statute of limitations in Colorado allows 2 years to bring a lawsuit. For car accidents, the deadline is 3 years, counting from the date of accident. This may seem like a lot of time, but you have to act immediately after the accident to get a fair settlement.
Hire a car accident lawyer
While not necessary by law, hiring a car accident lawyer will help your case. Most attorneys in Colorado work on a contingency fee, so you don’t have to pay them upfront. Your lawyer can investigate the accident, build your case, and ensure that your rights are protected. They will also negotiate with the insurance company, or go to trial, if need be.
Avoid the mistakes
Don’t run away from a car accident. No matter who is at fault, call the police and report the incident. Make sure that you don’t admit fault to anyone, and consider taking video footage and photographs of the accident scene.
Let your attorney handle your car accident claim, as you stay back home and recover.